Enrico D.

One year ago today I received a phone call from my brother. I was in disbelief because I had just seen him and his friend Eric play soccer the night before. My brother said in a mute tone “my friend Eric died” …. The breath was removed from my body. I immediately became angry because I thought he was joking as my brother likes to do but I thought he was crossing the line with this one… But before I could say anything I heard him crying. A sadness fell over me and cloaked me. I couldnt think or speak. I just surrendered to the tears. The tears lasted for many days.
I didn’t know Eric that well but I felt on the instant of meeting him that he was one in a million. He was sweet and gentle. He was my brothers greatest friend from childhood and that alone made me so sad. They spent almost everyday together. How to deal with losing someone so close to you! And someone so wonderful at that. There is no perfect way.
Eric lived his life by showing people by example that there are wonderful people in this world. Eric’s life taught me to appreciate every moment with those you love. Hang on to and cherish every laugh, every smile and everyday you have with those you love because you never know when our creator will call them to come home. We are here on this earth to enjoy each other, teach each other.
Never lose sight ~ Don’t Blink.

Eric’s favourite song I’m told. How appropriate.

Rest in Peace Erico ~ you are an angel and guide in heaven. You are greatly missed even by those you may never thought you touched.

20120307-155813.jpg

My prayers and thoughts are with Enrico’s family everyday and especially today. One year later from Enrico’s departure. Xo.

I found the below last year… How beautiful…

“You can shed tears that he is gone,
or you can smile because he has lived.

You can close your eyes and pray that he’ll come back, or you can open your eyes and see all he’s left.

Your heart can be empty because you can’t see him, or you can be full of the love you shared.

You can turn your back on tomorrow and live yesterday, or you can be happy for tomorrow because of yesterday.

You can remember her only that he is gone, or you can cherish his memory and let it live on.

You can cry and close your mind,
be empty and turn your back.
Or you can do what he’d want:
smile, open your eyes, love and go on”
David Harkins quotes (British Poet and Painter b.1958)

Leave a Reply

